Country File: Cook Islands

With today’s Country File we’re getting into neighbouring places we’ll see about working into our Tahiti trip, and this is French Polynesia’s neighbour to the west: Kūki ‘Āirani, commonly known as the Cook Islands!

Flag of the Cook Islands


The Cook Islands joined UNESCO on 08 October 2007, making it a real country by‘s standard —

— which is, in fact, different from conventional practice; the Cook Islands are not a member of the United Nations, although they’re thinking about it; they are a self-governing state within the Realm of New Zealand, with New Zealand generally responsible for foreign affairs —

— and it has no inscribed or tentative World Heritage Sites yet!


p dir=”ltr”>MTP counts three separate parts to the Cook Islands,

Cook Islands (Southern)
Manihiki (and Penrhyn)
Pukapuka (and Suwarrow)

and TCC counts it as one.

  • Cook Islands (Rarotonga, Aitutaki, Penrhyn)


Trip Reports:

  • none yet!

About Author


I go places.


  1. […] although, like the Cook Islands this is different from conventional practice as Niue is not a member of the United Nations; they […]

Leave a Reply