Country File: New Zealand

Fourth on our Tahiti trip planning list is today’s Country File: New Zealand – Aotearoa, commonly known as New Zealand!

Flag of New Zealand

New Zealand joined UNESCO on 04 November 1946, making it a real country by‘s standard; it has 3 inscribed and 8 tentative World Heritage Sites, and 1 finalists on the New 7 Wonders lists:

Tongariro National Park (1990)
Te Wahipounamu – South West New Zealand (1990)
New Zealand Sub-Antarctic Islands (1998)

Auckland Volcanic Fields (30/03/2007)
Waters and seabed of Fiordland (Te Moana O Atawhenua) (30/03/2007)
Kahurangi National Park, Farewell Spit and Canaan karst system (30/03/2007)
Kerikeri Basin historic precinct (30/03/2007)
Kermadec Islands and Marine reserve (30/03/2007)
Napier Art Deco historic precinct (30/03/2007)
Whakarua Moutere (North East Islands) (30/03/2007)
Waitangi Treaty Grounds historic precinct (30/03/2007)

New 7 Wonders finalists:
Milford Sound

MTP counts New Zealand as 13 places in 2 regions:


p dir=”ltr”>Pacific Ocean:
Chatham Islands
Kermadec Islands
North Island
South Island
Tokelau Islands

Antipodes Islands
Auckland Islands
Balleny Islands
Bounty Islands
Campbell Islands
Ross Dependency (to S. Pole)
Scott Island
Snares Islands

and TCC counts it as 4 places in 2 regions:

Pacific Ocean:

  • Chatham Islands
  • New Zealand
  • Tokelau Islands (Fakaofu, Atafu, Union)


  • New Zealand (Ross Dependency)


Trip Reports:

  • none yet!

About Author


I go places.

Leave a Reply